Letters to the Editor

Letters to the editor are one of the most-read sections of a newspaper, so writing a letter to your local newspapers is a very effective way for you to help get the message out about why Northern Pass is the wrong choice for New Hampshire. Please take a few minutes to write a letter and then send it to one or more of the papers listed below.

Tips

Be brief. Some New Hampshire papers have word limits for letters. Keep it to 250 words or less.

Make it personal if you can.  Think about why you first decided to oppose Northern Pass. Try to capture that feeling in your letter. If you have a personal story to tell, include it.

Include your contact information. Many of the papers will only print a letter if they can confirm the writer’s identity, so include your name, address and phone number.

Facts

If you need facts to back up a point you want to make in your letter to the editor, check out Get the Facts and Judy’s Blog on our website. The Forest Society also has a lot of helpful information.

Links and email addresses:

  • New Hampshire Union Leader: letters@unionleader.com
  • The Concord Monitor: Submit a letter form
  • The Nashua Telegraph: letters@nashuatelegraph.com
  • Foster's Daily Telegraph (Dover): letters@fosters.com
  • The Keene Sentinel Submit a letter form
  • The Eagle Times (Claremont): news@eagletimes.com
  • Granite State News (Meredith): mnews@salmonpress.com
  • The Portsmouth Herald: Submit a letter form
  • Valley News (Upper Valley): forum@vnews.com
  • The Weirs Times: mailboat@weirs.com
  • The Laconia Citizen: letters@citizen.com
  • The Laconia Daily Sun: news@laconiadailysun.com

Other Papers:

  •  Berlin Daily Sun: bds@ncia.net
  •  Berlin Reporter: reporter@ncia.net
  •  Bow Times Bedford Bulletin: editor@bowtimes.com
  •  Caledonian Record: news@caledonianrecord.com
  •  Carriage Town News: electra@carriagetownenews.com
  •  Caroll County Independent: cci@salmonpress.com
  •  Conway Daily Sun: dailysun@mountwashingtonvalley.com
  •  Coos County Democrat: democrat@salmonpress.com
  •  Derry News: editor@derrynews.com
  •  Dover Community News: dcn@seacoastonline.com
  •  Eagle Times: etimes@cyberportal.net
  •  Eagle Tribune: letters@eagletribune.com
  •  Foster's Daily Democrat: letters@fosters.com
  •  Goffstown News: editor@goffstownnews.com
  •  Hampton Union: dmcdermot@seacoastonline.com
  •  The Villager (Hillsborough):  editor@villagernewspaper.net , villagernews@hotmail.com
  •  Hudson Litchfield News: writehln@yahoo.com
  •  The Messenger: granitequill@mcttelecom.com
  •  Intertown Record: intertown@conknet.com
  •  Laconia Daily Sun: news@laconiadailysun.com
  •  Lancaster Herald: nnhmag@ncia.net
  •  Milford Cabinet & Wilton Journal: news@cabinet.com
  •  Monadnock Ledger: news@mledger.com
  •  Northern Light: news@northernlightnews.com
  •  Portsmouth Times: jbreen@fosters.com
  •  Record Enterprise: record@salmonpress.com
  •  Salem Observer: letters@salemobserver.com
  •  Seabrook's Hometown Journal: editor@seabrookhtj.com
  •  Somersworth: chief.editor@somersworld.com
  •  The Dartmouth Online: the.Dartmouth@dartmouth.edu
  •  The Dartmouth Review: review@dartreview.com
  •  The New Hampshire: tnh.editor@unh.edu
  •  The News & Sentinel: sentinel@ncia.com